Organisation: Australian Industrial Relations Commission (1988 - 2009)

8 November 1988
31 December 2009
Industrial relations
Alternative Names
  • AIRC


The Australian Industrial Relations Commission (AIRC) was an independent national tribunal dealing with employment issues. It was established under provisions of theIndustrial Relations Act 1988, replacing the Australian Conciliation and Arbitration Commission.

The AIRC ceased operation on 31 December 2009. It was replaced by a new national tribunal, Fair Work Australia, which assumed many of the functions of the AIRC.


The Australian Industrial Relations Commission was the central institution of Australian labour law during its period of operations. It was established under the Industrial Relations Act 1988, and subsequently administered its powers under the Workplace Relations Act 1996.

The earliest predecessor to the tribunal was the Commonwealth Court of Conciliation and Arbitration, established in 1904.

Related entries


 1904 - 1956 Commonwealth Court of Conciliation and Arbitration
       1956 - 1973 Commonwealth Conciliation & Arbitration Commission
             1973 - 1988 Australian Conciliation and Arbitration Commission
                   1988 - 2009 Australian Industrial Relations Commission
                         2009 - Fair Work Australia

Related Organisations